In the Place of Adam

In a sense, when Christ died upon the cross and restored our Sonship, he stepped into the place of Adam.  He then became the first-born among the dead, and is able to grant eternal life to others.

"I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again."
"I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again."

This is a well-established theme in the Bible.  Let’s look at a few passages:

Col 1:18-20 [NIV]
18And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy.  19For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, 20and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.

1 Cor 15:20-22 [NIV]
20But Christ has indeed been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep.  21For since death came through a man, the resurrection of the dead comes also through a man.  22For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive.

Heb 2:9-11 [NIV]
9But we see Jesus, who was made a little lower than the angels, now crowned with glory and honor because he suffered death, so that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone.  10In bringing many sons to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the author of their salvation perfect through suffering.  11Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family.  So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers.

And He did this by sending His Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Sonship – the promised Gift from God the Father.

Most of us are familiar with the concept of “born-again.”  It’s become a buzzword for when one acknowledges Christ, even if only nominally.   But to be born again is not just a change of religious practice or encampment, it is a spiritual reality and experience you must possess in order to live a life of the Spirit.  Only by this will you know how to live as a son of God.

When you received the seed of the Spirit of Sonship, just as Jesus was born of the Holy Spirit, you were sealed for a work of transformation.  This takes a period of quickening of your spirit, not to mention your soul and flesh, to fully emerge into this reality and live in its ways.   Paul describes it like this:

Rom. 8:13-17 [NIV]
13For if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, 14because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. 15For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” 16The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17Now if we are children, then we are heirs-heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

Remember, in this, there is no male, no female.  It is, in a sense, like a missing child coming home and being included gradually in the love of the father and mother.   The example of adoption can only reflect certain aspects of this process.  In a sense, we come from being a total stranger to being an integrated part of the family.  It takes time to get acquainted with the way of the family, the love of the parents, and the privilege of the family name,  traditions, and inheritance.  But there is something more to your own well being in the Family of God – something miraculous in nature and in power.  It is the life as a blessed son, not an orphan whose soul ever wonders and searches for a home of love and belonging.  But true life and inheritance of all that is in God.

This post is _Part 7_ in a series Restored Back to the Father: Son and Orphan. To continue with this series, click on Part 8.  To use this as a growth tool to better understand your own calling, you might start by reading the explanation of this series and then read Pt 1, Pt 2, Pt 3, Pt 4, Pt 5 and Pt 6.

Photo credit: DaisyCat77

Get Instant Access To